Europa Conference League: Why Emi Martinez wasn’t sent off after second yellow


There was confusion as Aston Villa goalkeeper, Emi Martinez, was not sent off after receiving a second yellow card in their Europa Conference League quarter-final second leg against Lille Thursday evening.

Martinez had earlier been booked for time wasting during normal time and was booked again during the penalty shoot-out, as the tie ended 3-3 on aggregate after 120 minutes.

However, the Argentine stopper stayed on and made two saves as Villa progressed into the semi-finals.

Football transfer expert, Fabrizio Romano, has now explained the rule that allowed Martinez to continue.

He tweeted: “Dibu Martínez did it again. Two penalties saved, shushing the crowd in France (!) and helping Aston Villa to enter the semi finals.

“Martínez was also booked in the first half then he got a second yellow card in the penalty shootout…

“…but he wasn’t sent off as “player who receives yellow card during the match penalties is NOT sent off”.”





Source link

Leave a Reply